click here for cyber attack reporting guidance


Information Security for the North East – the North East’s public sector WARP

Terms of Reference
ISNorthEast membership application form

ISNorthEast brings together the governance, assurance and security professionals from public sector organisations in Northumberland, Tyne and Wear, Durham and the Tees Valley in a trusted community.

It allows them to get together on a regular basis to share good practice, exchange views and address information assurance and cyber security issues facing local public service organisations that could potentially be affecting everyone.

Membership is open to information security and information assurance officers from non-profit public service organisations in the north east region and their outsourced delivery partners and is free of charge. Members from organisations outside the north east region may be admitted at the forum’s discretion.

ISNorthEast holds half-day meetings every other month in a central location where common issues are discussed, sometimes with invited expert speakers. In addition to meetings, members receive a daily round ups of threats, vulnerabilities and relevant news stories.

Critically, members have a mechanism to immediately alert each other of real threats being encountered in a sort of ‘neighbourhood watch’ for public data and systems.

ISNorthEast has a presence on the CiSP national cyber security platform and its members contribute to wider discussions on the platform including in the North East Region CiSP Group.

Member Benefits

Advice Brokering

  • Regular meetings.
  • A secure online collaboration space to support discussion and knowledge sharing.
  • Information security news stories and developments curated from a number of different sources distributed as a daily email newsletter.
  • Best practice shared with other local authority WARPs.

Trusted Sharing

  • Members share information about security incidents anonymised if required, so that everyone can benefit from lessons learned.
  • Access to information from other public sector WARPs.
  • Councils must report incidents to CESG (the UK National Technical Authority); WARPs are the primary interface between the two.

Critical Alerts

  • Members notify each other of critical issues using an online messaging solution.


  • Notifications and alerts on viruses, malware and software vulnerabilities are curated from a number of different sources including other local authority WARPs and distributed by email.

Current Members include:

Local Government (councils)

Durham County Council

Gateshead Council

Hartlepool Council

Middlesbrough Council

Newcastle Upon Tyne City Council

North Tyneside Council

Northumberland County Council

Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council

South Tyneside Council

Sunderland City Council

Xentrall Shared Services (Stockton BC & Darlington BC)

Local Government (other)

Engie (North Tyneside Council)

Gateshead Schools IT (curriculum support)

North Eastern ICT Partnership

South Tyneside ICT in Schools

North of Tyne Combined Authority

Tees Valley Combined Authority

Passenger Transport Executive



Tyne and Wear Fire & Rescue

Central Government

Department of Work and Pensions


Homes England

National Cyber Security Centre


County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust

NHS Business Services Authority

North of England Commissioning Support Unit

Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust

Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust

NHS Counter Fraud Authority

NHS Blood and Transplant

Tees, Esk and Wear Valley NHS Trust


Durham University

Newcastle University

Teesside University

University of Sunderland

Newcastle College Group


Durham Constabulary

Northumbria Police

North East Regional Cybercrime Unit

Cleveland Police

Out of Area

Calderdale Council

Edinburgh City Council

Kirklees Council

Terms of Reference

ISNorthEast membership application form

ISNorthEast is facilitated by the North Eastern ICT Partnership.

Useful Links

National WARP Directory

National Cyber Security Centre

Dynamo North East

CiSP – Cyber Security Information Sharing Partnership